Genu vs Poster POS: An Honest Comparison (2026)
Genu is business software for restaurants, cafés and bars in Türkiye that brings the QR menu, bill and POS (cashier), waiter and kitchen display, stock and customer credit accounts together in a single panel. Poster POS is a cloud-based POS for iPad and Android aimed at food service and retail: it covers sales, inventory, finances and analytics, is sold by monthly subscription and says it is used in 27,000+ locations.
Both products are cloud-based and cover table service. Poster's strengths are a low monthly entry price, a stated offline mode, a kitchen display (Kitchen Kit), a QR menu add-on and an open API; Genu stands out with a flow built in Turkish around how restaurants in Türkiye work, waiter-approved QR ordering, a Desktop cashier that runs fully when the internet is down and approval-based AI. The tables below put the data from both companies' official websites side by side, with dates.
Verification note
The Poster information on this page was taken on 9 October 2026 from the public home and pricing pages of joinposter.com/en. Prices are shown per month with a dollar sign; the currency and tax treatment are not otherwise stated on the page. Next to the amounts shown under the 'Annual payment' option, the pricing page also shows higher amounts (Mini 29, Business 49, Pro 69 dollars); it is not clearly stated which belongs to monthly billing, so only the highlighted amounts are used. The home page says 'from $26 per month' while the page text says 'from $19 per month'; because they are inconsistent, neither is used as a starting price. The site's language selector does not include Turkish; availability in Türkiye is not stated and was not verified. Features may change; always rely on the official website for current information. If you spot an error, let us know and we'll correct it.
Is something missing or wrong?
Price comparison: monthly subscription and annual plan
| Genu | Poster POS | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing structure | Basic / Premium / Pro — each higher plan includes everything in the one below | Mini / Business / Pro monthly plans; an individual plan for businesses over 1,500 dishes/goods and chains |
| Amounts | Basic $199 · Premium $499 · Pro $999 (annual, VAT included) | Mini $26/month · Business $44/month · Pro $62/month |
| What the plans cover | Basic: QR menu; Premium adds QR ordering, waiter panel, stock and recipes, customer accounts; Pro adds bills, the cashier, the kitchen display, a commission-free pickup / home delivery channel and loyalty | Mini: menu management, inventory, sales reports, loyalty, QR menu, AI assistant, P&L report. Business adds dish modifiers, promotions, delivery management, payroll calculation, phone support, a mobile waiter app and a kitchen display (KDS). Pro adds table reservations, backdated menu edits, butchery management and advanced access control |
| Extra costs | The plan price covers all updates; there is no separate licence fee | Hardware is not included (a tablet or computer is needed for the waiter terminal); extra register $19; three mobile waiters $27/month, each additional one $9/month; Poster QR $7/month, Poster Site $19/month |
| Trial | 30 days, no credit card required | 15 days; Pro features are free during the trial |
Work it out for your own scenario
Poster's entry price is low, but the kitchen display and mobile waiter app start at Business, and the QR menu and online ordering add-ons are charged separately. For a business that wants bills, a cashier and a kitchen display, the comparison is Genu Pro at $999/year (VAT included). Poster's amounts are monthly and in dollars; confirm the tax treatment before buying. Poster's pages say nothing about a Turkish interface or Türkiye-specific compliance (cash register, e-invoice).
Feature comparison
| Feature | Genu | Poster POS |
|---|---|---|
| Selling when the internet is down | ✓ Pro + Genu Desktop: new orders, payments, closing bills, customer credit accounts and the end-of-day continue during an outage; when the connection returns, every transaction is recorded in the cloud exactly once | ✓ Its home page says it is 'fully functional offline': taking orders, printing receipts and sending tickets to the kitchen without internet, with data syncing when the connection returns. Which plans include it is not stated on the pricing page |
| AI assistant and MCP | ✓ Genu Assistant (proposes menu and price changes), Genu Pazarlama (marketing) and an MCP connection (ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor); approval-card based: nothing changes without approval, and every approval is logged under the approver's name. Daily AI credits in every plan | An 'AI assistant' is listed in every plan on the pricing page; its scope, an approval flow and MCP are not stated |
| Own online ordering channel (commission-free) | ✓ Pro: pickup and home delivery, ordering from the menu, WhatsApp sign-in and order notifications, live order tracking; no per-order commission | ✓ Poster Site: pickup and delivery ordering with online card payments (paid add-on); commission is not stated |
| Waiter approval on QR orders | ✓ Premium+: a QR order goes to the waiter first and is sent on to the station (kitchen) once the waiter approves it | Not stated on the official pages |
| Item cancellation permission + mandatory reason | ✓ Cashier or manager role + a mandatory reason; every deletion is written with its reason to the audit log and the end-of-day cancellation list (who, when, why) | Not stated on the official pages |
| Table QR identity and join approval | ✓ Every table has its own QR identity; joining an occupied table goes to the people at that table for approval | Not stated on the official pages |
| Stock, recipes, customer accounts and expenses | ✓ Premium, Pro and Enterprise: automatic recipe-based deduction (gram quantities), goods receiving, stock counts, waste, product cost and margin; customer and supplier credit accounts (purchase invoices, supplier balance); expense tracking | ✓ Inventory with automatic/manual deductions and a P&L report in every plan; payroll calculation from Business. Customer/supplier accounts are not stated |
| HQ panel (multi-branch) | ✓ Enterprise: HQ panel (branch comparison, end-of-day coverage, automatic alerts), a single MCP connection for all branches; Pro price × branches for 2–3 branches, custom pricing for 4+ | Chains and businesses with over 1,500 dishes/goods can request an individual plan; HQ panel detail is not stated |
| Kitchen display (KDS) | ✓ Station-based kitchen display (Pro) | ✓ Kitchen Kit: an Android app that replaces kitchen ticket printers and notifies waiters when orders are ready (Business and above) |
| QR menu | ✓ In every plan; QR ordering with Premium+ | ✓ Poster QR (QR menu, feedback); listed in the Mini plan and also shown as a $7/month add-on |
| Waiter app | ✓ PIN-based staff sign-in, waiter panel (Premium+) | ✓ Mobile waiter app (Business and above) |
| Reservations | No customer-side reservations; reservations are recorded only by staff at the cashier | ✓ Table reservations (Pro) |
| Integrations | No delivery-platform or cash-register integration — on the roadmap; an MCP connection is available | Xero and Cloudbeds integrations and an open API; no delivery platform is named |
| Where the system runs | Cloud + Genu Desktop for Windows (outage-resilient cashier on the till PC) | Cloud; iPad and Android; its language selector offers English, Spanish, Kazakh, Russian and Ukrainian, not Turkish |
'Not stated on the official pages' in the table does not mean the feature is absent — only that it could not be verified on Poster's public pages on the comparison date. Confirm it in the sales conversation.
Difference in focus
- Poster's structure: a cloud POS on iPad/Android with a low monthly entry price; a stated offline mode, kitchen display, mobile waiter, QR menu and an open API. The feature steps between plans are clear.
- Genu's structure: the operating system of a table-service restaurant — QR order at the table → waiter approval → station-based kitchen display → cashier → end-of-day; stock, recipes, customer accounts, expenses and multi-branch under one roof; built in Turkish around how restaurants in Türkiye operate.
- Outage resilience: Poster states offline operation on its home page; with Genu Desktop installed on the till, new orders, payments, closing bills and the end-of-day continue when the internet drops.
- Where Genu stands out: approval-based AI (Genu Assistant, Genu Pazarlama, MCP), a commission-free own pickup/home delivery channel, item cancellation that requires a role plus a reason, and join approval through table QR identity.
- The best test for deciding: upload your menu to Genu and try it for 30 days in real service, without giving a credit card.
Frequently asked questions
What is the main difference between Genu and Poster POS?
Pricing structure and focus. Poster POS is a global cloud POS for iPad and Android with Mini / Business / Pro monthly plans ($26 – $62/month); hardware and some add-ons are separate. Genu offers the Turkish, table-service restaurant flow — QR ordering, waiter approval, kitchen display, cashier, end-of-day — in one place through Basic / Premium / Pro annual plans ($199 – $999/year, VAT included); the Desktop cashier that sells fully when the internet is down and approval-based AI are where Genu stands out.
Can Poster POS be used in Türkiye?
Poster's pages give no availability or local-compliance information for Türkiye, and Turkish does not appear in its language selector. Confirm with Poster before using it; Genu is built in Turkish and around how restaurants in Türkiye operate.
Can I move my menu from Poster POS to Genu?
Yes — we move your menu together with you. If you paid your previous provider 10,000 TL or more per year and your subscription is still running, your remaining months (up to 9) are added to your Genu annual subscription under the Transfer Bonus (Geçiş Bonusu); see the gecis-bonusu page for the terms.
Does Genu have Yemeksepeti/Getir integration?
Delivery platform integration is on Genu's roadmap. Today Genu manages delivery and takeaway sales through its own channel: queue-numbered delivery bills at the cashier, separate prices for table, takeaway and delivery, a packaging fee, and orders customers place from the menu all come together on the same screen; there is no per-order commission.
Is this comparison impartial?
This page was written by Genu; we are not an impartial third party and we don't pretend to be. What we do: take Poster POS's data only from official sources, state it with its access date, write its strengths plainly, and put no claim we couldn't verify into the table.
Compare it with your own venue
Genu's 30-day free trial requires no credit card. Upload your menu and see the cashier, the kitchen display and a cashier that keeps working when the internet goes down in real service.
Other comparisons